John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Picture in preparation.
Image Source: John Vigar
Today a large ruin stands as a reminder of the severe damage suffered by Dover in the Second World War. This is the remains of `Old` St James, a Norman cruciform flint church. Its west doorway is an exceptionally fine piece of twelfth century work, putting the west door of the present parish church of St Mary to shame. In the nineteenth century, instead of restoring the church, it was decided to build a new one a short distance away, although the old church was eventually kept in use. It was very badly bomb-damaged and not rebuilt. The `new` St James Church was repaired after the war, but in its turn was declared redundant and demolished.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 770
Morning Attendance: 470
Afternoon Attendance: 470
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: 1858 Talbot Bury
Restoration: Demolished after war damage
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2017.