John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Salmon
Cared for by The Churches Conservation Trust, this church stands against the back door of Knowlton Court and is, to all intents and purposes, an estate church. It is a simple structure of just nave and chancel - probably of thirteenth century date - but today the entire church has the atmosphere of an early nineteenth century one. The three-decker pulpit with red cushion; the box pews; the chancel gates with elaborate fretwork; the text on the altar and around the east window and the very dark stained glass. From an earlier period are the two memorials in the chancel. On the north side is the memorial to the sons of the big house lost when the Association ran aground off the Isles of Scilly - the ill fated ship lying on the rocks carved into the panel below. A must-see church - which creates a feeling as sticky as treacle and a memory that stays forever.
1851 Census Details
Original Build Date/Architect: Medieval
Restoration: William White 1855
Second Restoration: -
The Churches Conservation Trust
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2018.