John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Vigar
A picturesque church, especially when viewed from the south, with a little weatherboarded top to its short tower. There was a fire here in 1554, which did great damage to the thirteenth-century building. The south arcade has some finely carved capitals of fourteenth-century date, and there is a contemporary tomb recess in the south chapel. The pretty font cover of the seventeenth century has some of the best Jacobean carving in this part of Kent. The rood loft stairway may be seen in the south-eastern pier. The east window, which depicts the Vision of St John, was designed in 1962 by Patrick Reyntiens. It is one of the finest modern windows in Kent and may be compared to the roughly contemporary glass at Tudeley by Chagall. In spite of its unashamedly modern approach the work here is far more conventional and appropriate for its setting.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 634
Morning Attendance: 211
Afternoon Attendance: 345
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: Medieval
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2017.