John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Salmon
A large fourteenth-century church with a regularity of detail that tells of much nineteenth-century replacement. The tall octagonal piers of the five-bay arcade are capped by a pretty clerestory of small quatrefoils. The wooden pulpit was made for St Margaret's, Westminster, in 1682 and brought here in 1800 by the then vicar who taught at Westminster School. It has charming cherubs' heads, cockle shells and festoons and could go a long way to enlivening a dull sermon! The former chantry chapel of Simon de Mepham (1272-1333), Archbishop of Canterbury, and a fourteenth-century political pawn, is linked to the chancel by an iron-grilled window.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: No return
Morning Attendance: 50
Afternoon Attendance: 130
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: medieval
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2019.