John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Salmon
An absolute gem, hidden in the backstreets, this is the finest church building in the town. Designed by George Fellowes-Prynne in the closing years of the nineteenth century, it took 40 years to complete. Apart from the lack of the SW tower, which was never built, it survives as an example of this remarkable manís vision. Red brick with Portland stone dressings, it gives a feeling of space, yet warmth and the way in which arches of different shape and size spring from the walls almost gives an impression of a building that has grown. The furnishings are delightful; including a fine 1960s window in the Lady Chapel and a towering Triptych behind the High Altar which came from the convent at Clewer, Berkshire. The `beauty of holiness` is an oft-used phrase that truly is applicable to this much-loved building.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: Not built
Morning Attendance: Not built
Afternoon Attendance: Not built
Evening Attendance: Not built
Original Build Date/Architect: Fellows Prynne 1903
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2017.