John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Vigar
In the heart of Hayes village, St Mary’s is more of a country church than one would imagine. Unfortunately it was given a severe going over by the Victorians which has destroyed much patina but even so there is much to see. The earliest feature in the small lancet window in the west end of the nave dating from the thirteenth century. The arcades, both of which are Victorian, are round on the north and octagonal on the south, almost trying to convince us that here is a church which grew at two stages in the thirteenth century. In the north aisle is a fine memorial tablet to William Pitt, father and son, both of whom were associated with Hayes. It was erected in 1929 and carved by A G Wyon. The chancel screen is an odd open affair. The stained glass is a good selection – mostly by one firm – Lavers, Barraud and Westlake. However the stunning west window of the south aisle cannot be by them and requires more investigation.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 314
Morning Attendance: 141
Afternoon Attendance: 146
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: Medieval
Second Restoration: 1856 GG Scott, 1878 JO Scott
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2018.