John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Vigar
What a delightful and fascinating church! West tower, nave with aisles and long chancel make this building sound so commonplace. Yet its atmosphere and furnishings make this stand out as one of the most easily recognisable churches in the county. Set in a farmyard some distance from its village, St Margaret's church holds much of note. The chancel has been stripped of its limewash making it an interesting (though historically incorrect) contrast with the clerestoried nave. Firstly it has two Rood Loft Staircases - an obvious sign that over the course of the late middle ages the screen changed its position, or access. On the south wall is a memorial bust to an extraordinary inventor, John Read. This nineteenth century genius invented the round oast-house, the stomach pump and a tobacco enema! Nearby is an early eighteenth century `spider` chandelier. A huge brass is situated in the centre of the chancel (with a rubbing nearby). This is to Henry Grofhurst and dates from the mid fourteenth century. There are two very colourful windows by Rosemary Everett dating from the 1940s.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 350
Morning Attendance: 280
Afternoon Attendance: No service
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: Medieval
Restoration: 1869 Wyatt
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2019.