John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: Chris Luscombe
Originally a Norman church, this lovely church was extended very slightly to the west by the Victorians under the direction of Henry Blackwell. His is the weird half-timbered bellcote over the western gable. Two original Norman doorways survive, the southern one now leading into the meeting room extension added in the late twentieth century. Of this date, too, is the very successful re-ordering of the chancel, with chairs arced around the altar for the use of the choir. The altar frontal itself is an outstanding modern design. Many items in the church carry the unique `Keston Mark` an elaborate cross unique to the village, which may have Roman origins. Hanging on the south wall of the nave is an eighteenth century painting of Aaron - its accompanying Moses having been stolen many years ago. These paintings were once common in the Georgian period but few churches have retained them. The startling jewel-like stained glass windows are mainly by the form of Barton, Kinder and Alderson and date from the 1950s, replacing glass destroyed in the war. A difficult to explain blocked arch in the southeast corner of the nave may have lead to a side chapel. Its eastern capital has been cut through to allow a ladder or staircase to climb to the former roodloft.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 130
Morning Attendance: No return
Afternoon Attendance: No return
Evening Attendance: No return
Original Build Date/Architect: Medieval
Restoration: 1878 Blackwell
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2017.