John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Salmon
An atmospheric church - and one of the best kept in Kent. It may not be the best example of Victorian architecture but this single cell ragstone church with views across the channel is one of East Kent's undiscovered gems. The product of a single benefactor, William Curling, and built in 1853, it is all a church of the period required it to be. To either side of the altar are the Lord's Prayer and Decalogue - still a legal requirement in 1853 - whilst there is no chancel arch. These were only just becoming fashionable following the work of the Camden Society. The stained glass in the numerous decorated windows is not all of the date of the church. Generally speaking it improves the later its gets. There is a fine two light window opposite the door by C E Kempe and co (St Peter and St Paul) whilst in the NW Corner is a window made by Powell's and designed by Gerald Smith. Curling`s monument says that `this church will ever form his noblest monument`. Open daily and a wonderful place for contemplation indeed it will.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 350
Morning Attendance: 110
Afternoon Attendance: 130
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: Hay
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2019.