John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Vigar
The Church was built in 1933, and was designed by Mr A.S.R Ley FRIBA a church warden and his son A.H Ley ARIBA. The building is made from concrete and brick and was consecrated on the 21st October 1933 by the Bishop of Rochester. Instead of a Pulpit and Lectern the church has two Ambos. The church seats have been in the church since it was built, made from English Oak. The Unique font, in Perrycot Stone and Black Marble was executed by the Warham Guild. Around the church there are the stations of the cross. The Church seats (approx) 220 people. The organ is quite small. It has two manuals and a foot manual and was originally at a church in Erith. The previous instrument was a “drawing room” organ from Lamorbey House. The church has a steeple which contains a 4cwt bell by Mears and Stainbank in the Campanile.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: Not built
Morning Attendance: Not built
Afternoon Attendance: Not built
Evening Attendance: Not built
Original Build Date/Architect: A S R Ley, 1933
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2018.