John E. Vigars Kent Church Photographs
Image Source: John Vigar
A little known but fascinating church with tall stainless steel spire set in open countryside behind Walmer. Partly incorporating pieces of the Norman church that stood there, it was designed by Ashpitel in 1861, helped by a small grant from the ICBS whose board may still be seen. The tall chancel arch is flanked by two blank ones (see Barfreston) whilst to the north, the pulpit is a charming work in neo-Romanesque with open tracery and much moulding. The pulpit is dated 1663 and is obviously a post-Puritan replacement (see also Walmer), although it lacks a contemporary cover. There are memorials aplenty here including an odd one on the north wall to George Lynch (died 1787) a festooned extravaganza. At the base are inset two tiny pieces of mirror glass - a unique feature. Also commemorated in the church is the 1st Earl of Ypres, who is buried in the churchyard. A hatchment at the west end dominates that part of the church. The stained glass is very much of its date and rather fussy but fits well into its neo-Norman frames. This is a much-loved church with great character and deserves to be much better known.
1851 Census Details
Seating Capacity: 100
Morning Attendance: 45
Afternoon Attendance: No service
Evening Attendance: No service
Original Build Date/Architect: Medieval
Restoration: Ashpital 1861
Second Restoration: -
Queries Relating to this Church
To contact this church, please try: A Church Near You
All information contained on this website is the intellectual property of John Vigar © 2018.